Lostwithiel is easily accessible by road and rail and is set amid lovely Cornish countryside. Its ancient bridge spans the River Fowey which runs through the town to the quay and on through Coulson Park and the Shire Hall Moor Nature Reserve.
Now famed for its antique shops, cafes and delicious cream teas, Lostwithiel was once the undisputed capital of Cornwall bustling with trade from its tin mining industry and a thriving port. Wander through the town today and you will find many signs of its fascinating past. The town was the scene of a major battle in the Civil War in 1644 and its ancient bridge narrowly escaped being blown up by the Parliamentary Army. The church with its delicate towering spire dates back to the 12th Century and during the siege of Lostwithiel in 1644 this impressive building was used to stable horses. The Great Hall was sacked and burned by the Parliamentary soldiers and all that remains of it is an imposing buttressed building in Quay Street now called the Duchy Palace.
Today Lostwithiel is a quiet and peaceful small town with gentle walks along the river and through woodland to the imposing ruins of Restormel Castle which overlook the town. It welcomes visitors and is an ideal base for exploring the countryside and unspoilt beaches of south east Cornwall. It has a thriving community of independent shops and businesses and there is always something to keep local residents and visitors entertained. To find out more visit www.lostwithiel.org.uk