# Lostwithiel Town Council - Annual Meeting

# Friday 11 May 2012

The Annual Meeting of the Town Council was held in the Guildhall on Friday 11 May 2012 at 12noon.

Councillors present Councillor C D Robson, Councillor Mrs G M Parsons, Honoured Burgess M Jones, Honoured Burgess W Nicholls, Honoured Burgess R Peareth Councillor D Abbiss, Councillor Mrs P Jarrett, Councillor C Jewels, Councillor D Parsons, Councillor M Stead, Councillor P Sweet, Councillor R Warwick & Councillor Mrs S Wilkinson

In attendance Cornwall Councillor Shakerley Mayor's Chaplain Rev M Turner Town Clerk Sandra Harris

Five visiting Mayors and eighty members of the public were in attendance

#### 001/12 ELECTION OF MAYOR & SIGNING OF DECLARATION OF OFFICE

It was proposed by Councillor R Warwick and seconded by Councillor Mrs S Wilkinson that Councillor Mrs G Parsons is elected Mayor for the Civic Year 2012/13. This proposal received the support of the Council and Mayor Mrs G Parsons signed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

#### 002/12 ELECTION OF DEPUTY MAYOR

It was proposed by Honoured Burgess Jones and seconded by Councillor P Sweet that Councillor Mrs P Jarrett is elected Deputy Mayor for the Civic Year 2012/13. This proposal received the support of the Council and Deputy Mayor Mrs P Jarrett signed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office. The outgoing Mayor was thanked and he replied.

003/12 APOLOGIES Apologies for absence were received and accepted from Councillors Mrs R Bettin, V May & J Pegg.

004/12 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST Councillor D Parsons declared a personal interest in agenda item 1 Election of Mayor.

005/12 APPOINTMENT OF MAYOR'S CHAPLAIN The Worshipful the Mayor of Lostwithiel Councillor Mrs G Parsons appointed Rev P Conway as the Mayor's Chaplain for the Civic Year 2012/13.

006/12 APPOINTMENT OF SERGEANT AT MACE The Worshipful the Mayor of Lostwithiel Councillor Mrs G Parsons appointed Mr M Jewels as the Sergeant at Mace for the Civic Year 2012/13.

### 007/12 APPOINTMENT OF TOWN SERGEANT

It was proposed by Councillor M Stead and seconded by Honoured Burgess Peareth that Mr J Abbiss is appointed Town Sergeant for the Civic Year 2012/13. This proposal received the support of the Council.

#### 008/12 MEETING SCHEDULE

The meeting was advised that the monthly full Council meeting for the ensuing year will continue to be held on the first Tuesday of every month with the exception of June 2012 and January 2013 when the meetings will be held on the second Tuesday. All meetings will start at 7pm.

### 009/12 ADJOURNMENT OF MEETING UNTIL 22 MAY 2012

It was proposed by Councillor Parsons and seconded by Councillor Robson that the Annual Meeting of Lostwithiel Town Council stands adjourned until Tuesday 22 May 2012 at 7pm. This proposal received the support of the Council.

Tuesday 22 May 2012

Councillors Present The Worshipful the Mayor of Lostwithiel Councillor Mrs G Parsons, The Deputy Mayor Councillor Mrs P Jarrett, Honoured Burgess M Jones & Honoured Burgess W Nicholls, Councillor D Abbiss, Councillor V May, Councillor D Parsons, Councillor J Pegg, Councillor D Robson, Councillor P Sweet & Councillor Mrs S Wilkinson

In attendance Town Clerk Sandra Harris

No members of the public were in attendance

010/12 PUBLIC PARTICIPATION None

011/12 APOLOGIES Apologies for absence were received and accepted from Councillors Mrs R Bettin, C Jewels, Honoured Burgess Peareth, M Stead & R Warwick.

012/12 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST None

013/12 TO RECEIVE THE MINUTES OF THE COUNCIL MEETING OF 1 MAY 2012 The minutes were accepted, approved and duly signed by the Worshipful the Mayor Mrs Parsons. Proposed Councillor Pegg seconded Councillor Robson.

## 014/12 COMMITTEES

<u>Planning</u> It was proposed by Councillor Pegg and seconded by Honoured Burgess Jones that the following Councillors are appointed en bloc to the Planning Committee for the Civic Year 2012/13. Mayor Mrs G Parsons Councillor D Abbiss Councillor Mrs R Bettin Honoured Burgess M Jones Councillor V May Honoured Burgess Peareth Councillor J Pegg Councillor D Robson This proposal received the support of the Council

## Land & Parks

Election to the Land & Parks Committee was by written ballot. The results of the ballot were announced and it was proposed by Councillor May and seconded by Honoured Burgess Jones that the following Councillors are appointed in accordance with the written ballot to the Land & Parks Committee for the Civic Year 2012/13 Mayor Mrs G Parsons Deputy Mayor Mrs P Jarrett Councillor Mrs R Bettin Councillor V May Honoured Burgess W Nicholls Councillor D Parsons Honoured Burgess R Peareth Councillor J Pegg This proposal received the support of the Council.

## Finance, Staffing & General Purposes Committee

Election to the Finance, Staffing & General Purposes Committee was by written ballot. The results of the ballot were announced and it was proposed by Councillor Robson and seconded by Deputy Mayor Mrs Jarrett that the following Councillors are appointed in accordance with the written ballot to the Finance, Staffing & General Purposes Committee for the Civic Year 2012/13 Mayor Mrs G Parsons Councillor C Jewels Honoured Burgess M Jones Councillor V May Honoured Burgess W Nicholls Councillor J Pegg Councillor D Robson Councillor P Sweet This proposal received the support of the Council.

# 015/12 ORGANISATION REPRESENTATION

Lostwithiel Football Club

It was proposed by Councillor Pegg and seconded by Deputy Mayor Jarrett that Councillor Robson is represents the Town Council at Lostwithiel Football Club meetings. This proposal received the support of the Council.

Thomas Bullock Trust

It was proposed by Councillor Pegg and seconded by Honoured Burgess Jones that Councillor May & Honoured Burgess Nicholls represent the Town Council at Thomas Bullock Trust meetings. This proposal received the support of the Council.

Elliot Trust

It was proposed by Councillor Robson and seconded by Honoured Burgess Jones that Councillor May & Honoured Burgess Nicholls represent the Town Council at Elliot Trust meetings. This proposal received the support of the Council.

CALC

It was proposed by Councillor Pegg and seconded by Councillor May that Honoured Burgess Jones represents Lostwithiel Town Council at Cornwall Association of Local Council meetings. This proposal received the support of the Council.

Local Community Flood Management Group

It was proposed by Councillor Abbiss and seconded by Councillor Sweet that Councillors May & Pegg represent the Town Council at Local Community Flood Management Group meetings. This proposal received the support of the Council.

M E Cole Trust

It was proposed by Councillor Pegg and seconded by Councillor Abbiss that Councillors May & Mrs Wilkinson represents the Town Council at M E Cole Trust meetings. This proposal received the support of the Council.

016/12 ITEMS FOR NEXT AGENDA

Planning – PA12/01257 regarding the Town Council's request for the application to be decided by Committee.

**Public Relations** 

Tables - collapsing tables for the Guildhall

The meeting closed at 7.50pm

Chairman

Date